Silence and Quite - Reisverslag uit Wanaka, Nieuw Zeeland van Ralf Wingen - WaarBenJij.nu Silence and Quite - Reisverslag uit Wanaka, Nieuw Zeeland van Ralf Wingen - WaarBenJij.nu

Silence and Quite

Door: Ralf

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ralf

10 April 2010 | Nieuw Zeeland, Wanaka


Hi Everyone,

I tought I did another update the day before yesterday, but apparently I didn't I figured out when I just talked to my mom on Skype. So, here it goes:

I'm now in Wanaka, a small town on the shore of a lake. On my arrival here on the 8th (did arrive about 10AM), I first went for a walk of half a day around the peninsula. And afterwards just relaxing in the hostel and writing on my book. I'm really making progress with that lately. Environnement here is really stimulating. :) Anyway, second day in Wanaka I just slept in late, and I mean really late. Was tired after having to wake up early each day, so earplugs in and eye patch (thank Rico, Paul!!) on and sleepy. :P In the afternoon yesterday I went to Puzzling World. A really cool place with a maze, some illusion rooms, roman toilets and a puzzle cafe. Spent about 4 hours of cracking my brain there. :P Put the pics of it on facebook and made some videos as well for when I'm home. And then today, went for another hike. Up Mt Iron for a beautifull look at (lake) Wanaka and it's surroundings. Didn't do much for the rest of the day though, only went to the cinema this evening. Was a bar/restaurant with a cinema in it (for about 30 people). Had couches to chil in and they baked cookies for during the break. Really cool!!:D

So, that's what I've been doing here in Wanaka, just living the life relaxing. But before here and after Dunedin, I did visit Q-town another time. Here I did a day cruise to Milford Sound on the 6th. Was a long day (from 8AM till 10PM), but definitely worth it. :) In short we did: a busride with lots of info, a visit to a small bird reserve, a boot cruise of 1 hour and then the 4 hour drive back with 2 local/NZ movies. Really liked the movies: The Whale Rider (about the Moari) and the World's fastest Indian. Also, I finally saw my dolphins! They were in front of the boat, and after a while also on (my) side of the boat and when we were laying still one of then just came to 'pose' for me. :D So, my day was well spent. Next morning I did get up early another time and finally did the Canyoning. It was cold laying 3 hours in the water, but I enjoyed it! Did jumping of waterfalls, abseiling, sliding down waterfalls/the river en 'tokkelen'. Highest jump of a fall was 25ft/8mtrs. Really exciting!

Okay, that's all. Bit longer and more detailed this time. But then again, I did have a good week after beeing stuck in Dunedin for Easter. :P Tomorrow I don't know what I'll do. Maybe a daywalk, but depends on the weather. Monday I continue to Franz Josef to visit Anna (which I met in the Brazilian jungle).

See ya and huggs/kiss from down under!

Ralf

My Trip
17/03/10 Flight from Dusseldorf
19/03/10 Arrival at Christchurch
26/03/10 Arrival at Mt Cook Village/Aokari
28/03/10 Arrival at Queenstown
02/04/10 Arrival at Dunedin
05/04/10 Queenstown
06/04/10 One day trip Millford Sounds
08/04/10 Wanaka
12/04/10 Franz Josef
15/04/10 Wellington?? (wanna see the Shire)
21/04/10 Flight to Sydney

  • 10 April 2010 - 13:28

    Willy:

    Dag Ralf,

    Kende je de film Whale Rider nog niet? Inderdaad, een prachtige film. Heb ik een keer op de televisie gezien. Laat veel van de Maori-cultuur zien.
    Je verveelt je inderdaad niet. Wat een activiteiten. Logisch dat je af en toe moe bent. Maar bovenal, geniet verder.


  • 10 April 2010 - 16:04

    Paul:

    Haha mooi om te zien dat mn oogkapje helpt.. dat zal ook wel met zo'n tekst erop :P zelfs vliegen etc hebben het zelfs gezien

    btw begin nu wel een beetje jaloers te worden. Heb het keidruk en hebt het alleen druk met het leuk te hebben

    Viel sjpass verder
    Ohja en vergeet vooral niet om van aboriginees wat foto's te maken en hun rituelen. Altijd lachen

  • 10 April 2010 - 16:05

    Paul:

    p.s. (paul smeets)
    het is 'quiet' in je titel en niet 'quite' want dat betekent 'nogal'. ik vind het NOGAL een misser :P

  • 10 April 2010 - 19:53

    Hans:

    heerlijk om te lezen dat je nu ook af en toe relaxed tussendoor. Dat was vorige reis wel anders. Maar dan kun je ook meer genieten van de "hoogtepunten". En dat zijn er weer heel wat.
    En niet allemaal ongevaarlijk. Maar ja, ik ben dan ook al een oudere man. Op jouw leeftijd zou ik dat ook nog allemaal durven....!!!???
    Leuk weer zo regelmatig wat van je te horen (lezen in dit geval). Is eigenlijk vreemd dat je daarvoor aan de andere kant van de wereld voor moet zitten.
    Maar goed, geniet ook voor mij mee, want hier is het alleen maar hard werken.
    Knuffel,
    Hans

  • 12 April 2010 - 06:26

    Ben:

    Paul heeft inderdaad gelijk, denk dat we met zijn alle wel een beetje jaloers zijn;). Klink allemaal goed veel leuke dingen en genoeg rust.

    Goed om te horen dat je het erg naar je zin heb.

    Veel plezier.

    Gr Ben

  • 12 April 2010 - 15:33

    Ruth:

    He Ralf,
    Klinkt allemaal super. Ik ben mijn oogkapje helaas kwijtgeraakt na 2 dagen. Kan het wel gebruiken...het is hier heel vroeg licht...

    Gelukkik heb je eindelijk je dolfijnen gezien! Het is geen olifant maar wel even mooi ;)

    Kussies van Kenia

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Ralf

Na de hotelschool bijna af te hebben, begin ik aan een reisje aroung the world van ongeveer 2 jaar.

Actief sinds 04 Sept. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 160
Totaal aantal bezoekers 84319

Voorgaande reizen:

27 Juli 2013 - 27 Juli 2013

De reis die heet het leven

10 Oktober 2011 - 13 Oktober 2011

Paar daagjes Disney

17 Maart 2010 - 01 Juli 2011

Down Under & the Far East

10 Juni 2009 - 17 Maart 2010

Thuis

07 Juli 2008 - 10 Juni 2009

My 1st World Trip

30 Juni 2007 - 31 Juli 2007

Maandje Europe

09 September 2006 - 07 Februari 2007

Stage Disney

Landen bezocht: