Broadway..the show must go on - Reisverslag uit New York, Verenigde Staten van Ralf Wingen - WaarBenJij.nu Broadway..the show must go on - Reisverslag uit New York, Verenigde Staten van Ralf Wingen - WaarBenJij.nu

Broadway..the show must go on

Door: Ralf

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ralf

10 Februari 2009 | Verenigde Staten, New York

Hellow,

It’s been a few days again, so here a little (read, I’ve done too much) update. For who has missed some of the last updates, I’m now in New York in my hostel and it’s about 10.30 pm (4.30 dutch time). I’ve been to DC and tomorrow we’ll fly on to Orlando and Miami. I haven’t got a lot of time to write since there is a lot of site seeing to be done, but I’ll do my best. And same as last time, I might just write comments on the wall, or change something instead of posting something new.
Ow yeah, to Linda’s mum: I’ll bring her back in one peace and I’ll try to convince her to go home. :P And I also proposed (but not really), but she gave me the blue. :’(

*****

1) Welcome to the Big Apple
Just a little quote before we arrived at New York, we were sitting in the bus and the following happened. When entering the bus, we immediately fell asleep and when we woke up, it was white outside. Linda thought was: hey, the landscape is the same as when I went skiing in France. Shortly after she dozed in again, and when we entered New Jersey and I woke her up again saying ‘we’re almost there’, she replied (death serious): ‘In France???’ :P
My first impression of New York was: dirty, chaotic, crowded, noisy and big. And I think this summons about it what New York is. Only that a couple of days ago I thought it to be: ‘not friendly/nice’, I now know that if you know where to look, you’ll have a cool time in NY. What Linda and I did (and we actually did too much in those 4 short days) is:
Day 1: check in in the hostel – buy a metro cart :P – visit ground zero and the 9/11 museum (with a tour outside by 2 Ney Yorkers) – Wall Street – Brooklyn Bridge – City Hall – go up the Empire State Building and enjoy an sunset in New York – arrive at the hostel and fall into a coma :P
Day 2: Statue of Liberty and (the museum of) Ellis Island – Times Square to buy tickets for a musical (and therefore wait in line for about an hour) and also get tickets for standup comedy and vouchers for free drinks in a bar – take a shower at the hotel and return to Broadway – dinner at Mc Do - Marry Poppins musical at Broadway (Little Mermaid was unfortunately full) – enjoy one of the free cocktails of the vouchers – return to the hostel and sleep even better as the first night.
Day 3: visit 66th street because this is where the house of Carry Bradshaw (sex and the city) is supposed to be only to find out that it is in Perry street :S – Central Parc – the Metropolian Museum of Art – Comic Strip club (with the tickets for standup comedy we bought the day before) were Comedy Central was also taping – getting back at the hostel just a bit tipsy and sleep well again.
Day 4: try to go to the house of Carry Bradshaw again, this time in Perry Street, but Linda didn’t know the house number, so we had to google it (luckily I brought my laptop) – Rockefeller centrum and the Saint Patrick Cathedral – the Public Library of NY – Central Station (who has seen Madagacar? That clock were Melborn bumps his head into is really there!! :P) – Times Square again to take a picture there with Mickey and have lunch – we wonder were some queue is for and ask and get invited to by the audience for a new MTV show called The Fashion Show (to say it in Linda’s words: How cool is that, being in a MTV pilot on Broadway in New York! :D ) – decide that the shooting of the show takes too long and go away after nearly 3 hours to have dinner in ‘Diva’ in Sohow – return to the hostel and spent some time surfing.
So, that’s basicly it. Hope in Miami and Orlando it will be a bit more relaxing, but that will not be a problem with one day beach and one day Everglades in the planning. I’m now going to bed, and let Linda do her thingies as well and tomorrow at 13.05 we have the plane to Orlando.

Since Linda hasn’t put her photos on the laptop yet (and I almost didn’t take any), I’ll do this later, so check my site regularly!
And ow yeah, Erik, tell Ruud and Youri to check MTV and Comedy Central to see if I and Linda or one it and if so, they owe me money for I’m on national television and completed his ‘quest’. :) Giro 799 53 51 :P

*****

2) The Route

This is my trip:
- 22/01/09 I flew to Aruba to visit and pick up Linda;
- 03/02/09 We take the flight to Washington DC and will visit Mariska;
- 06/02/09 We will take the bus on to New York and will sleep in our first hostel;
- 10/02/09 We'll have a flight to Orlando and will stay in Florida (Miami, Orlando, Disney?, Keys? and Everglades) some days. We will decide there what we'll do;
- 14/02/09 (or the 15th) we will then fly on to Bogota (Colombia);
- 15/02/09 We'll visit Cartagena and Medillin (Colombia) one or more days and then go back to Bogota;
- ??/02/09 After Colombia, we'll cross the border in the direction of Quito (Ecuador) and will also visit the Galapagos Islands;
- ??/03/09 South of Ecador is Peru, were we will visit the ancient Maja Temples in f.e. Macho Picchu and Iquitos and also capital Lima and sand boarding is on the list;
- ??/03/09 A short cross to Bolivia will bring us to La Paz and some salt desert;
- ??/04/09 We will continue to go south and about Santiago (Chili) we'll cross the boarder east to Argentinia;
- ??/04/09 Going up north again in Argentinia (direction Buenos Aires), we'll finally end up in Brazil were we will follow the east coast back north (cities like Rio de Janeiro and Salvador) and then turn west again direction capital Brasilia;
- ??/05/09 From Brasilia we will enter the Amazone for a while;
- ??/05/09 (or begin june) our journey together will end and I will continue west to Australia while Linda goes back to the first point of our journey: Aruba.

Roughly my trip after North and South America will look like this:
- 05/09 (or 06/09) Australia (working and traveling 1 year, maybe with Katie);
- 05/10 (or 06/10) Asia (Indonesia, Philipijnen, Maleisia, Thailand, Vietnam, India, China, Korea and Japan, maybe with Isabel for a while);
- 11/10 Trans-siberian Railway Peking Express through among others Peking (China), Mongolia, Jarkoetsk (Rusland), Onsk (Rusland), Moskou (Rusland) for 18 days (maybe with Robbert);
- 12/10 Home sweet home, Wingman back in the Netherlands.

*****

3) My to do list

In one of the first messages I wrote, I said that you could let me do certain things in exchange for money. Here is the stauts quo:

- Get (naked) on national tele in the USA: Waiting if were on, being taped for Comedy Central and MTV’s the Fashion Show ~ REWARD: € 100,- by Ruud and Youri;
- Find a famous place/square and be a street artist: I forgot my jiggling balls everytimne I went into Paris, but the USA has plenty of oppertunities. ~ REWARD: € 100,- by Ruud and Youri;
- Enjoy your trip: I will! ~ REWARD: € 25,- by Hans (Thank you Hans!!)
*** ACCOMPLISHED ***
- Shave your head bold: since my mum shaved me twice I'm almost hairless now. :S ~ REWARD: € 3,50 by Sarah H;
*** ACCOMPLISHED ***
- Come to the Luna-Tik Switch: since I'm in Maastricht now (and bored) and waiting till 10h, I think I'll manage. ~ REWARD: free entrance as per Erik;
*** ACCOMPLISHED ***
- Carry Mickey around the world and tkae pictures in famous places: I WILL! ~ REWARD: A cool photo collection, as per me!;
- Get married in Las Vegas in an Elvis Suite and stay married for at least 6 months: Linda s not interested ~ REWARD: € 450,- as per Erik;

Did I forget one, do you want to add one?? Let me know!!
Do you want to add some?? Let me know!!

*****

4) Games

A little game for all:

Each person that posts, must repeat the sentance 'I will go on holiday and take with me:', repeat the items of previous persons and add one item of his own.

This is were we left of:

*I'll go on holiday and take with me: my backpack (Inge, afblijven!), my hand cups, Inge's prom dress, Mickey Mouse, a snorcle, juggling balls, 1 underpens, a passport, mama's toothbrush, Linda!, a winter jacket, snow boats and my MP3 player. :)

*****

Well, that's it. I will try to put some more pics online wenn Linda puts hers on my laptop, but for now it’s only my pics. See ya next time!
Kisses, great love and more from the one and only Wingman aka Ralf and a hug from Mickey!!!!

  • 10 Februari 2009 - 09:57

    Isa:

    Hey Ralf!

    Wattt!!! Proposing to Linda?!!??! Had je me dat niet even eerder kunnen vertellen, niet zomaar in Vegas trouwen he, wil er wel bij zijn!!! ;) Echt veel dingen hebben jullie al gezien. Super hoor. Hier is alles regenachtig en ook druk, maar wel erg gezellig.

    Tot mails!
    Isa

  • 10 Februari 2009 - 10:02

    Mamsie:

    Ralf,

    Zoals ik al schreef per e-mail: "Take it easy".
    Geweldig wat jullie allemaal gezien en gedaan hebben tot nu toe.
    Neem wel je tijd ervoor, als alles te snel gaat kun je het je later niet meer herinneren. Ik dacht op de foto 'Times Square 2' pappa te herkennen, maar het kan hem niet zijn.
    Tot mails.

    P.S.
    *I'll go on holiday and take with me: my backpack (Inge, afblijven!), my hand cups, Inge's prom dress, Mickey Mouse, a snorcle, juggling balls, 1 underpens, a passport, mama's toothbrush, Linda!, a winter jacket, snow boats and my MP3 player, my bracelet.


  • 12 Februari 2009 - 09:40

    Katie:

    Best heftig die foto van 9-11 vermiste personen.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Ralf

Na de hotelschool bijna af te hebben, begin ik aan een reisje aroung the world van ongeveer 2 jaar.

Actief sinds 04 Sept. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 345
Totaal aantal bezoekers 84274

Voorgaande reizen:

27 Juli 2013 - 27 Juli 2013

De reis die heet het leven

10 Oktober 2011 - 13 Oktober 2011

Paar daagjes Disney

17 Maart 2010 - 01 Juli 2011

Down Under & the Far East

10 Juni 2009 - 17 Maart 2010

Thuis

07 Juli 2008 - 10 Juni 2009

My 1st World Trip

30 Juni 2007 - 31 Juli 2007

Maandje Europe

09 September 2006 - 07 Februari 2007

Stage Disney

Landen bezocht: